History of Club

In 1963, three young men, Patrick Helferty, Seamus Harkin and Johnny McCafferty approached the "Master" in Termon National School, Danny McBride, with the view of forming a GAA club in the area.The master wasted no time in calling a meeting of all interested in GAA in the area. The first meeting was held in the old school in Kilmacrennan in December 1963. The first games the club played were challenge games, and the team wore borrowed yellow jerseys from the Letterkenny Technical College. It wasn't until 1967 that Termon donned the Maroon & White jersey for the first time.


Termon have been entering underage teams into competitions since the late 60s but it wasn't until February 1986 that the club set up a dedicated Minor board with Netty Gibson becoming the first chairperson.

In 1988, Termon GAA had the honour of playing the first girl in Donegal in a championship final, with Niamh Cullen playing centre half back (and captaining the team) for the victorious Under-12's against Kilcar. In 2016, our Under 14’s made history by representing the county for the first time ever in a Feile Division 1 Final.

Founded in 1992, the Termon Ladies Board now consists of teams from U10's to Minors along with a Junior and Senior Ladies teams. In our club history, the Senior Ladies victory in the All Ireland Senior Football final takes center stage. That ladies victory was the first ever senior club All-Ireland title won by a Donegal club. The win over Mourneabbey of Cork on a scoreline of 3-12 to 1-13 was a truly historic day for our club. Geraldine McLaughlin top scored with 3-8, lifting player of the match and the Dolores Tyrell trophy as captain of the team. This was not simply a fluke as Francie Friel, Trevor Alcorn and Paul McDaid had put in four years of work with this team winning a first Ulster in 2010, drove them on to appear against old foes Donaghmoyne in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Although only coming out on top in Ulster on that first occasion and when they reached the holy grail, they did win senior league and county championship titles on each of those occasions.

In recent years we have been represented on the Mens County Senior panel by Paddy McDaid, Michael Boyle, and Enda Mc Cormick, with Michael having the distinction of joining Tommy Ryan as an All-Ireland winner in 2012 and Enda winning an Ulster Minor medal in 2016.

In the past decade the club has developed a floodlit training ground and upgraded the Burn Road playing field. The club is now in the planning stage of a new, state-of-the-art clubhouse at the Burn Road
On a sad note in the past 10 years the club has sadly said goodbye to numerous club members. We have lost Paddy Friel and Charles O’Donnell – two of our founding officers. We also mourned the loss of Essie McGrenra a long time club official in 2018 and we had the untimely and tragic death of playing member Andrew Duffy in 2012. In January of 2019 we sadly experienced the death of our Chairman Danny O’Donnell better known as ‘Danny O’.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top