‘The 63’ Club Notes 28/11/23


60th Anniversary & Dinner Dance

Last Saturday CLG An Tearmainn hosted their 60th Anniversary Dinner Dance and Presentations. Two hundred attended the Mount Errigal Hotel in Letterkenny as the club also celebrated the success of teams and players in 2023. It was an honour and privilege for the club to have President elect of the GAA Jarlath Burns as our special guest and the Armagh native was given a warm Donegal and Termon welcome on the night. 

Six decades ago, six men come together to form Termon GAA club. Patrick Hilferty (Club President), Danny Kelly and Benny Trearty joined us on the night and there were also presentations of gratitude to family members of Johnny McCafferty, Seamus Harkin and James Trearty.There were over 40 awards and the victorious Senior Reserve Men and Senior Ladies were presented with their medals. Hugh Harkin’s men’s team won the league and championship double while the ladies won four competitions this year, the Donegal and All Ireland Gaeltacht, Division 1 League and Championship.

The first ever Anthony McGrenra Senior Player of the Year Award was won by Jack Alcorn. Following Anthony’s passing last year, the club wanted to keep his name associated with Termon football and felt naming the award after him was a fitting way to do that. Anthony’s wife Catherine and his father Patrick presented the award, with Aaron Reid accepting on Jack’s behalf. In his first year playing senior football, Cian McMeniman was named Young Player of the Year. Hot-Shot Paul Mallon who scored eight points in the championship final was honoured with the Senior Reserve Player of the Year and the Young Player in the category was won by Cormac Brady. Owen Browne was named the Young Senior C Men’s Player of the Year and Mark Gallagher took the Senior C award. 

Shannon McLaughlin had an impressive season and was named the Senior Ladies Player of the Year and the talented Niamh Bonner was named Young Senior Ladies Player of the Year. Ava Friel won the Young Junior Ladies and Christine Gallagher picked up the Junior Ladies Player of the Year.

Fifteen recognition and achievement  awards were given to  members for their fantastic efforts and service they give to the club – Maureen Gallagher, Orla Trearty, Kevin McCafferty, Ben Harkin, Seamie Friel, Dermot Coleman, Margo Doherty, Deirdre Gallagher, Eileen McDaid, Christy Wilson, Gerard Grant, Kieran Gallagher, Brian Trearty, Dairean Gibson and Ellen Callaghan.

A full gallery of photos by Chloe Callaghan Photography is available to view on the clubs social media channels.


This Saturday 2nd December, the U21 men are in quarter final action of the A Football Championship. The Burn Road men head to Donegal Town to face Four Masters. Throw in 12noon.

Congratulations Niamh Bonner

There was double award joy for Niamh Bonner at the weekend.  She was also named the Donegal LGFA U16 Players Player of the Year on Saturday.U13 GirlsWell done to the U13 Girls who won the County Bronze Final at the weekend. They beat Naomh Muire in the final which was played in Gaoth Dobhair.

Club Lotto

Lotto Results  – 26/11/2023. No’s drawn   were 13  22  26  27. There was no winner of the €6700 Jackpot. James Cullen won €80 in Match 3 while Pauline Gallagher and Rosemary Gorman were the €10 Lucky Dip. Next week’s is Jackpot €6750.


Bingo this Friday continues at An Craoibhin, Houses on game 7 and game 8 will be €1000 each  Minimum payout on the night will be €3700. At the hall there is free electric car charging. Free bonus game at the end of normal bingo. For online players, books on sale via Termon Bingo Facebook page. Books will also be available as normal in Gracies Stores. Postage of books available, call 0749139009 before Monday..

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top